Spotify AdBlocker

·

2 min read

So today I was listening to some music on Spotify's desktop app or client if you want to be fancy and I couldn't help but notice the ads. I mean there's no way I could not notice since I was on the free plan.

I know I know, why not just pay for the premium plan Well part of it is because I've been using Mutify -which automatically mutes the ads for me, for close to six months. But I didn't have my phone with me and so I had to use the desktop app. Come to think of it it's the first time this year that I'm using it.

Down the rabbit hole I go, trying to figure out how to mute ads, but this time on the desktop app. The solutions were mostly for windows or required a Spotify developer account and I don't use windows Yes I'm better than you. In the process, found an old bookmark that does what I need and does this through the command line :o, unfortunately, it was only for mac. Github Repo

So I thought maybe I could try and write a script to do the same, I mean it can't be that hard right, wrong but something good came about as I found spotify adblock. It had what I wanted and it's a CLI app written in Rust :o -Told you I'm better.

I could have probably found a better solution to it but for now, this will have to do. I recommend you check the repo to get the installation instructions or use the script I made

This uses flatpak if you are going to use it, ensure its setup